No. 1 Virginia well represented in ACC postseason honors

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA - MARCH 3: Head coach Tony Bennett of the Virginia Cavaliers claps in the second half during a game against the Notre Dame Fighting Irish at John Paul Jones Arena on March 3, 2018 in Charlottesville, Virginia. Virginia defeated Notre Dame 62-57. (Photo by Ryan M. Kelly/Getty Images)

RICHMOND, Va. (WRIC) — The regular season Atlantic Coast Conference champion Cavaliers now have the 2018 ACC Coach of the Year for head coach Tony Bennett. No. 1 Virginia’s senior forward Isaiah Wilkins is the Defensive Player of the Year and redshirt freshman forward De’Andre Hunter is the Sixth Man of the Year.

The Hoos (28-2, 17-1) also got All-ACC selections for sophomore guard Kyle Guy (1st team), fifth-year senior guard Devon Hall (2nd team) and sophomore guard Ty Jerome (3rd team). Virginia will start their ACC Tournament run at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. on Thursday, March 8th at 12:00 p.m. as the No. 1 seed in the bracket.

As for their in-state rival Virginia Tech, junior guard Justin Robinson garnered an All-ACC 2nd team selection. The Hokies (21-10, 10-8) are the No. 7 seed in the ACC Tournament and begin on Wednesday, March 7th at 6:00 p.m.

For more details on Atlantic Coast Conference postseason awards, click here: ACC Announces All-Conference teams, postseason awards

Find 8News on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram; send your news tips to