Some Facebook users hit with ‘suspicious activity’ scam

FILE - In this May 16, 2012, file photo, the Facebook logo is displayed on an iPad in Philadelphia. Responding to criticism, Facebook says it will no longer allow advertisers to use ethnicity as a filter when it comes to targeting or hiding ads offering housing, employment or credit. The changes come after a report by ProPublica found that Facebook’s system lets advertisers exclude black, Hispanic or other so-called 'ethnic affinities’ from seeing their ads. (AP Photo/Matt Rourke, File)

MENLO PARK, Calif. (WFLA) – A number of Facebook users are reporting that they received a notice about ‘suspicious activity’ on their accounts.

The scam notifications attempt to scare the user into believing that suspicious activity on their Facebook account has resulted in their accounts being locked.

Users are told it’s a ‘safety precaution,’ before baiting users into clicking a link to a Google Sites page.

The notice, posted by a number of users on the social networking site, says “If within 6 hours after you receive this information from us and you do not confirm, your account will automatically be disabled permanently.”

The notification is signed “Facebook Ads Team.”

A number of users posted the notification to alert others about it, urging them not to click the links.

The scam is the latest attempt to exploit user’s information, passwords and other personal information.

Users are reminded to protect their passwords and never give them out to anyone. Facebook reminds users that their messages to users will never ask for their password, social security number, credit card number or PIN. When in doubt, you can report the suspicious message to Facebook.

Never miss another Facebook post from 8News

Find 8News on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram; send your news tips toiReport8@wric.com.