JMU’s Schor, Virginia State’s Frazier win state college football awards

RICHMOND, Va. (WRIC) — For the fourth straight year the Dudley Award is headed to Harrisonburg. The Touchdown Club of Richmond and the Richmond Times-Dispatch honored James Madison junior quarterback Bryan Schor as the state’s best Division I football player. Through 13 games, Schor has thrown 24 touchdowns and just five interceptions. He has also run for ten touchdowns. Schor was not present to accept the award, as the Dukes are preparing for an FCS National Semifinals matchup with five-time defending National Champions North Dakota State. That game will take place Friday night at 7:00 PM in Fargo, ND. Vad Lee won the Dudley Award twice before Schor and JMU linebacker Stephon Robertson won it before Lee. Only Virginia Tech has had Dudley Award winners in five consecutive years.

Schor beat out Richmond senior wide receiver and Hermitage graduate Brian Brown as well as Virginia junior linebacker Micah Kiser for the award.

Virginia State senior and Meadowbrook High School product Bryant Frazier made history as the first Trojan and also the first defensive player to win the Lanier Award, given to the state’s top non-Division I football player. In 2015, Virginia Union quarterback Shawheem Dowdy became the first ever winner from Virginia Union.

Frazier had 55 tackles on the season including 34 solo tackles and 14.5 sacks. The sack total was set a new school record.