Dave Brat, 5 other Republicans win Virginia seats in House; 2 districts not yet decided

RICHMOND, Va. (WRIC) — Representatives from the GOP have made a strong showing in Tuesday’s election in Virginia.

The Associated Press has declared GOP nominees in 6 districts the winners of their races.

In the 1st Congressional District, Republican Rob Wittman won another term, defeating Democratic challenger M.D. Rowe and Glenda Gail Parker, an independent.

In the 2nd District, Republican Scott Taylor has been elected.

In the 3rd District, Democratic Bobby Scott defeated Republican M.L. “Marty” Williams.

In the 4th District, Democrat Donald McEachin defeated Republican Mike Wade.

In the 5th District, Republican former State Senator Tom Garrett has won the open seat, defeating Democrat Jane Dittmar.

In the 6th District, Republican Bob Goodlatte beat Democrat Kai Degner.

In the 7th District, Republican Dave Brat defeated Eileen Bedell.

In the 8th District, Democrat Donald Beyer beat Republican Charles Hernick and independent Julio Gracia.

In the 9th, Republican Morgan Griffith defeated Democrat Derek Kitts and independent Janice Allen Boyd.

In the 10th, Republican Barbara Comstock defeated Democrat LuAnn Bennett.

Incumbent Gerry Connolly, a Democrat who was unopposed, took the 11th District.

No winner has yet been declared in the 4th or 10th district elections.

For more election stories, check the following: Richmond Decides, Electoral College, Results, Virginia Map 

This is a developing story. Stay with 8News online and on air for the latest updates.

Never miss another Facebook post from 8News

Find 8News on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram; send your news tips toiReport8@wric.com.