2016 winners for the 50th annual CMA Awards

Counry Music Awards celebrate 50 years with tribute to country music history

NASHVILLE (WATE) – The City of Nashville hosted country music’s biggest night this Wednesday. It was a milestone for the CMA Awards, marking 50 years, and to celebrate, this year’s theme was a tribute to country music history.

Country superstars Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood presided over the evening, returning as hosts for the ninth consecutive year.

You can heck out the nominees and winners and listen to some of their music below:

Entertainer of the Year

  • Garth Brooks — WINNER
  • Luke Bryan
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Carrie Underwood
  • Keith Urban

Single of the Year

  • “Die a Happy Man” – Thomas Rhett — WINNER
  • “Humble and Kind” – Tim McGraw
  • “My Church” – Maren Morris
  • “Nobody to Blame” – Chris Stapleton
  • “Record Year” – Eric Church

Album of the Year

  • Black – Dierks Bentley
  • Hero – Maren Morris
  • Mr. Misunderstood – Eric Church — WINNER
  • Ripcord – Keith Urban
  • Storyteller – Carrie Underwood

Song of the Year

  • “Burning House” – Camaron “Cam” Ochs, Tyler Johnson, Jeff Bhasker
  • “Die a Happy Man” – Sean Douglas, Thomas Rhett, Joe Spargur
  • “Humble and Kind” – Lori McKenna — WINNER
  • “Record Year” – Eric Church, Jeff Hyde
  • “My Church” – busbee, Maren Morris

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Kelsea Ballerini
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Maren Morris
  • Kacey Musgraves
  • Carrie Underwood — WINNER

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Dierks Bentley
  • Eric Church
  • Tim McGraw
  • Chris Stapleton — WINNER
  • Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the year

  • Lady Antebellum
  • Little Big Town — WINNER
  • Old Dominion
  • Rascal Flatts
  • Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year

  • Brothers Osborne — WINNER
  • Dan + Shay
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Joey + Rory
  • Maddy & Tae

Musical Event Of The Year

  • Home Alone Tonight – Luke Bryan Featuring Karen Fairchild
  • The Fighter – Keith Urban Featuring Carrie Underwood
  • Think of You – Chris Young duet with Cassadee Pope
  • You Are My Sunshine – Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton
  • Different For Girls – Dierks Bentley feat. Elle King (winner annouced on “Good Morning America”)

Musician of the Year

  • Paul Franklin
  • Dann Huff
  • Brent Mason
  • Derek Wells
  • Jerry Douglas

Music Video of the Year

  • Chris Stapleton – Fire Away (winner annouced on “Good Morning America”)
  • Tim McGraw – Humble and Kind
  • Eric Church – Record Year
  • Dierks Bentley – Somewhere On A Beach
  • Cam – Burning House

New Artist of the Year

  • Brothers Osborne
  • Maren Morris — WINNER
  • Old Dominion
  • Cole Swindell
  • Kelsea Ballerini

This is a developing story. Stay with 8News online and on air for the latest updates.

Never miss another Facebook post from 8News

Find 8News on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram; send your news tips toiReport8@wric.com.