Chesterfield County Public Schools names Teachers of the Year

CHESTERFIELD COUNTY, Va. (WRIC) — Leaders of Chesterfield County Public Schools visited three schools Wednesday to name the school district’s Teachers of the Year.

Rvery Chesterfield County School selects a Teacher of the Year annually. From those honorees, school officials select an Elementary School Teacher of the Year, a Middle School Teacher of the Year and a High School Teacher of the Year. Then, the countywide Teacher of the Year is chosen from those three honorees.

Chesterfield’s Teacher of the Year is Rachel Burgett. She was also honored as Chesterfield’s Elementary School Teacher of the Year.

Burgett teaches art at Greenfield Elementary School. She joined Chesterfield County Public Schools in 2011 as a long-term substitute teacher and moved into her current position in 2013. She previously coordinated and taught youth and family art programs at the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts.

Burgett earned a bachelor of fine arts degree in interior design and a bachelor of fine arts degree in art education from Virginia Commonwealth University.

Burgett’s nomination will now be submitted to the Virginia Department of Education, which will select eight regional Teachers of the Year from across the state, and then will choose the Virginia Teacher of the Year from the eight regional winners.

(Photos: Chesterfield County Public Schools)
Rachel Burgett (Photos: Chesterfield County Public Schools)

Teresa Hockenberry was named Chesterfield’s Middle School Teacher of the Year.

Hockenberry is the library media specialist at Tomahawk Creek Middle.

She began her education career in Arkansas in 1984, began teaching in Chesterfield County Public Schools in 1986 and in 2008, moved into her current position. Hockenberry earned her bachelor’s degree from Harding University, then earned a library media degree from Virginia Commonwealth University.

(Photo: Chesterfield County Public Schools)
Teresa Hockenberry (Photo: Chesterfield County Public Schools)

The High School Teacher of the Year in Chesterfield is Renee Serrao. She teaches social studies at Cosby High School, specifically U.S. and Virginia government and Advanced Placement U.S. government and politics.

Serrao joined Chesterfield County Public Schools in 1992 and has been part of the Cosby High faculty since 2007. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Virginia.

(Photo: Chesterfield County Public Schools)
Renee Serrao (Photo: Chesterfield County Public Schools)

Superintendent Marcus Newsome wrote letters to each Teacher of the Year, which read in part:

Teaching is a collaborative profession — consulting with colleagues, sharing ideas with administrators and partnering with parents. Teaching and teamwork have more in common than just the first three letters of each word. But in every school and at every level, certain teachers stand out. These teachers demonstrate care and compassion, stress the importance of rigor and relationships and do the extra things necessary to help move our students toward success.”

Here is the full list of all of the Teachers of the Year from Chesterfield County Public Schools:

Elementary schools

  • Rachel Burgett is Chesterfield’s Teacher of the Year, Chesterfield’s Elementary School Teacher of the Year and Greenfield Elementary’s Teacher of the Year
  • Bellwood Elementary — Kristal Zink
  • Bensley Elementary — Laura Schultze
  • Beulah Elementary — Jill Baskerville
  • Bon Air Elementary — Pamela Kobza
  • Chalkley Elementary — Ellie Gillette
  • Marguerite Christian Elementary — Terri Davis
  • Clover Hill Elementary — Teena Stuller
  • Crenshaw Elementary — Elizabeth O’Meara
  • Crestwood Elementary — Sarah Creamer
  • Curtis Elementary — Erin Medlin
  • Davis Elementary — Keasha Hunt
  • Ecoff Elementary — Gwen Heningburg
  • Enon Elementary — Rebecca Liggitt
  • Ettrick Elementary — Heather Menzel
  • Evergreen Elementary — Alison Sheppard
  • Falling Creek Elementary — Shannon Corbett
  • Gates Elementary — Kara Collins
  • Gordon Elementary — Sandy Albert
  • Grange Hall Elementary — Ruth Palczynski
  • Greenfield Elementary — Rachel Burgett
  • Harrowgate Elementary — Traci Link
  • Hening Elementary — Lynda McCarty
  • Hopkins Elementary — Amanda Hayes
  • Jacobs Road Elementary — Amanda Rodes
  • Matoaca Elementary — Katelyn Brophy
  • Providence Elementary — Joanna Fincher
  • Reams Road Elementary — Olivia Ngugi
  • Robious Elementary — Ann Noack
  • Salem Church Elementary — Meghan Tarabay
  • Elizabeth Scott Elementary — Michelle Kessler-Dillard
  • Alberta Smith Elementary — Beth Davis
  • Spring Run Elementary — Charmaine Sowers
  • Swift Creek Elementary — Karole Parynik
  • Watkins Elementary — Kimberly Sheehan
  • Bettie Weaver Elementary — Liza Becker
  • Wells Elementary — Hillary Florstedt
  • Winterpock Elementary — Maranda Fontana
  • Woolridge Elementary — Jennifer Cousins


Middle schools

  • Teresa Hockenberry is Chesterfield’s Middle School Teacher of the Year and Tomahawk Creek Middle’s Teacher of the Year
  • Bailey Bridge Middle — Megan Forbes
  • Carver Middle — Laura Kiser
  • Elizabeth Davis Middle — Debra Graves
  • Falling Creek Middle — Thomas Monroe
  • Manchester Middle — Christi Gibson
  • Matoaca Middle — Nina Greene
  • Midlothian Middle — Noelle Hunt
  • Providence Middle — Sandra Judge-Harden
  • Robious Middle — Katherine Burdette
  • Salem Church Middle — Kristin Dougherty
  • Swift Creek Middle — Mary Helen King
  • Tomahawk Creek Middle — Teresa Hockenberry

High schools

  • Renee Serrao is Chesterfield’s High School Teacher of the Year and Cosby High’s Teacher of the Year
  • Bird High — Keisha Hailstock
  • Career and Technical Center at Courthouse — Melonie Clark
  • Career and Technical Center at Hull — Karen Johnson
  • Carver College and Career Academy — Bruce Peterson
  • Clover Hill High — Rebekah Amato
  • Cosby High — Renee Serrao
  • Thomas Dale High — Amanda Booth
  • James River High — Mallory Strittmatter
  • Manchester High — Eric Pioch
  • Matoaca High — Nathan Hoback
  • Meadowbrook High — Leroy Hughes
  • Midlothian High — David Wilson
  • Monacan High — Emily Bailey

Comments are closed.