VHSL Announces 2015 Group 5A All-State Football Teams

The following comes from a release by the VHSL

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA (VHSL) — The Virginia High School League 2015 Group 5A all-state football teams have been selected. Highland Springs senior Greg Dortch, a first-team selection at receiver and kick returner was selected 5A Player of the Year while Highland Springs head coach Loren Johnson was named 5A Coach of the Year after leading the Springers to the 5A state title with a 27-7 win over Stone Bridge in the finals.

Thirty-two (32) players were chosen to each all-state team (Offense: one quarterback; four linemen; one center; three running back; three wide receivers; one tight-end; one kicker; one kick returner; one offensive all-purpose player. Defense: three defensive tackles; two defensive ends; four linebackers; four defensive backs; one punter; one punt returner; one defensive all-purpose player).

Each all-state selection committee is composed of eight football coaches (4 from each Region).

5A Offensive First-Team All-State

Quarterback, Daniel Smith, Tuscarora, Sr.
Center, Mike Green, Highland Springs, Jr.
O. Lineman, Andrew Vastardis, Stone Bridge, Sr.
O. Lineman, Trey Ramsey, L.C. Bird, Sr.
O. Lineman, CJ Bynum, Highland Springs, Sr.
O. Lineman, Truvell Wilson, Henrico, Sr.
Running Back, Meech Hembry, Broad Run, Jr.
Running Back, Jubaaru Wright, L.C. Bird, Sr.
Running Back, DJ Anderson, Highland Springs, Sr.
Receiver, Nic Speroni, Tuscarora, Sr.
Receiver, Greg Dortch, Highland Springs, Sr.
Receiver, K’Von Wallace, Highland Springs, Sr.
Tight End, Mark Birmingham, Briar Woods, Sr.
Kicker, Eathan Ratke, Atlee, Sr.
Kick Returner, Greg Dortch, Highland Springs, Sr.
O. All-Purpose, Jalen Elliott, L.C. Bird, Sr.

5A Defensive First-Team All-State

D. Lineman, Kevonte Demery, Henrico, Sr.
D. Lineman, Sulaiman Kamara, Hermitage, Sr.
D. Lineman, Sam Tanner, Lee-Davis, Sr.
Defensive End, Dondrea Tillman, Potomac Falls, Sr.
Defensive End, Aaron Motley, Highland Springs, Jr.
Linebacker, Matt Fialdini, Stone Bridge, Jr.
Linebacker, Rayshard Ashby, L.C. Bird, Jr.
Linebacker, Jordan Wall, Highland Springs, Jr.
Linebacker, John Kinney, Hermitage, Sr.
Defensive Back, Chris Moore, Broad Run, Sr.
Defensive Back, Jalen Elliott, L.C. Bird, Sr.
Defensive Back, K’Von Wallace, Highland Springs, Sr.
Defensive Back, Kaelin Snead, Hermitage, Sr.
Punter, John Gardiner, Matoaca, Sr.
Punt Returner, Dazz Newsome, Hampton, Jr.
D. All-Purpose, Earl Anderson, Highland Springs, Sr.

5A Player of the Year – Greg Dortch, Highland Springs, Sr.
5A Coach of they Year – Loren Johnson, Highland Springs

5A Offensive Second-Team All-State

Quarterback, Juwan Carter, Highland Springs, Jr.
Center, Brad Nelson, Tuscarora, Sr.
O. Lineman, Conlan Beaver, Massaponax, Sr.
O. Lineman, Tyler White, George C. Marshall, Sr.
O. Lineman, Zach Wilcox, Massaponax, Sr.
O. Lineman, Kemmone Henderson, Hermitage, Sr.
Running Back, Leon Young, Wakefield, Sr.
Running Back, Demone Drew, Brooke Point, Jr.
Running Back, Malik Butts, Salem-Va. Beach, Sr.
Receiver, Dazz Newsome, Hampton, Sr.
Receiver, Guy Keith, North Stafford, Sr.
Receiver, Devon Watford, Norview, Sr.
Tight End, Sam Tanner, Lee-Davis, Sr.
Kicker, Tommy Martin, Hickory, Jr.
Kick Returner, Naukym Morton, North Stafford, Sr.
O. All-Purpose, Ahmad Tweety, Mountain View, Jr.

5A Defensive Second-Team All-State

D. Lineman, Kahwon Davis, Massaponax, Jr.
D. Lineman, Daniel Renaud, Stone Bridge, Sr.
D. Lineman, Anthony Tham, Wakefield, Sr.
Defensive End, James Kennedy, Brooke Point, Jr.
Defensive End, Tylker Crist, Kecoughtan, Sr.
Linebacker, Trajan Anderson, Massaponax, Jr.
Linebacker, Josh Hurlbert, George C. Marshall, Sr.
Linebacker, Matt Meier, Broad Run, Sr.
Linebacker, Tavante Beckett, Indian River, Sr.
Defensive Back, Reggie Collins, Brooke Point, Sr.
Defensive Back, Trey Watkins, Massaponax, Jr.
Defensive Back, Javonn Quillen, Hampton, Sr.
Defensive Back, Marcus Tarrer, J.R. Tucker, Sr.
Punter, Jamal Fischer, Brooke Point, Sr.
Punt Returner, Naukym Morton, North Stafford, Sr.
D. All-Purpose, Jeremy Sampson, Tuscarora, Jr


Comments are closed.